BajaNomad

Okay, what do you call it?

Bajaboy - 5-31-2005 at 07:06 PM

I've been travelling south of the border for 37 years now. I've always called Baja by that name not "The Baja." So, I'm curious how do you refer to Baja.

Zac

[Edited on 6-1-2005 by Bajaboy]

David K - 5-31-2005 at 07:19 PM

Have you ever met any Canadians there?:lol::lol::lol:

How about The Sahara or The Kalahari where 'Desert' is dropped from the name, because everyone knows already... also The Sudan?

The Baja for us non-Canadians is perhaps a shorter term for 'the Baja peninsula' or 'the Baja race'...

'Baja' does live well without California added to it... and I do use just 'Baja' without 'The' in front, most of the time, if not always. I did have a license plate 'The Baja', however, in 1980 + when California increased plates to 7 characters.

what you call it

tehag - 5-31-2005 at 07:20 PM

Baja California, and some people are rather strong on this. Baja, The Baja, and especially Baja Mexico are not appreciated by many Baja Californianos.

David K - 5-31-2005 at 07:26 PM

Tehag, you have to admit that the word 'Baja' is used extremely heavily by locals for their business names... and not for businesses that cater just to tourists, either...

Baja Materials, Baja Liquor, Baja Auto, etc.

When some PC types tried to change the two state names in 1974-75 to Juarez (for BC) and SudCalifornia (for BCS) they were soundly defeated...

elgatoloco - 5-31-2005 at 10:46 PM

I use all of them. Baja , The Baja, Baja Norte, Baja Sur, The Peninsula.

To me 'The Baja' is a term of endearment I use when speaking generally about a place that I have been 'discovering' my whole life.

I was fortunate enough to hear first hand the famous author Jimmy Smith express his general distaste for the term.