BajaNomad

Another traffic ticket

Don Alley - 1-25-2006 at 09:57 AM

Ciudad Constitution...they got me again.

Normally I'm a pretty careful driver, and rarely get tickets. Until last year my last ticket was for running a stop sign in Missoula, Montana in 1993, while riding my bicycle.

But Constitution is tough. In a league with Missoula. I got busted for speeding on my way out of town a few months ago, poking along in the right lane (of four) with everyone blowing past me, except the policia who pulled me over. He took my license, said I had to return the next day to get it back. No way, we paid him off for 200 MN.

This time, I made an illegal left turn. Two ladies with Policia caps blew whistles at us and we pulled over. They explained that at the light, you could not make a left on a green light, unless it was a green arrow (which didn't seem to be working). When we suggested maybe there could be a "left turn on arrow only" sign they suggested that my front license plate could have a sticker that said "2006," not "2004." But I showed them my rear plate with a "PERM" sticker so that was OK. Imagine driving in Baja without current plates, lol!

So, they had my license. I was going to the police dept to pay the fine. But how would my license get there? And when? So we ALL piled onto the single bench seat, my wife, myself and the two police ladies and went to pay the ticket.

They waived the seat belt rule for the trip over. :)

Cost: 150 pesos. Cool, a 50 pesos no-mordida discount!

But I don't know, if can't figure out how to drive there without getting tickets, I may not shop there anymore. :lol:

Tucker - 1-25-2006 at 11:00 AM