BajaNomad

Temp Import Permit for car when you want to stay >180days

Jonah - 9-23-2016 at 10:23 AM

I am driving a van and travel-trailer down to La Paz and plan to leave them there indefinitely. I am just beginning my temporary residency, I did the US consulate part, I just need to do the Mexican immigration part. But at this point no TR visa in-hand. I would like to drive down from Tucson to Topolobampo and take the ferry (for several reasons: half the miles, no mountains to go over with my rig). However I just learned that to go to the state of Sinaloa I have to get a TIP (I believe for both the van and the trailer). I would be fine to do this but I read I have to give a deposit and will get that back when I leave in <180days. I don't plan to leave in 180days because I will have my temp res visa.

I don't think I need a TIP to drive in the Baja Peninsula. It is looking like it is just not going to work to drive the mainland and take the ferry... but I want to make sure I'm not missing something. Any advice would be appreciated. I've done both drives so I don't need to hear anything about the road conditions. Thanks.

[Edited on 9-23-2016 by Jonah]

mtgoat666 - 9-23-2016 at 10:31 AM

You are seeking advice on how to break the law in Mexico?
You'll find lots of co-conspirators here!

David K - 9-23-2016 at 10:40 AM

Guaymas to Santa Rosalia ferry is an option, but you will have one big grade to climb, south of Loreto... It was what everyone else does with motorhomes, trailers, busses, semi truck 18-wheelers, so it is not impossible for you, hopefully!

Jonah - 9-23-2016 at 11:17 AM

Quote: Originally posted by David K  
Guaymas to Santa Rosalia ferry is an option, but you will have one big grade to climb, south of Loreto... It was what everyone else does with motorhomes, trailers, busses, semi truck 18-wheelers, so it is not impossible for you, hopefully!