BajaNomad

Bringing Coffee into Mexico

pauldavidmena - 1-30-2019 at 08:35 AM

Am I permitted to bring a 12-ounce bag of coffee from the U.S. into Mexico? I've never done so before, as I typically buy a bag from Baja Beans in Pescadero, but I've got a bit of a surplus at the moment, and I'm heading down to Baja in just over a week. I'll be flying, not driving; I'm not sure if that changes the answer.

RnR - 1-30-2019 at 08:52 AM

We have never had an issue with bringing in coffee.

We typically bring a dozen (or more) Costco sized bags of whole coffee beans. Mex Customs has never questioned the coffee other than "How long will you be in Mexico? Nine Months. Have a nice visit."

Flying may be different. I have heard of numerous items being questioned at the Los Cabos airport. Good Luck.

pauldavidmena - 1-30-2019 at 08:59 AM

Over the years we've had a pretty solid streak of not getting hassled at Los Cabos airport but it would be a shame to risk it if coffee is a potential problem. I didn't see it in "banned items", but no one wants to see me try to operate without caffeine.

paranewbi - 1-30-2019 at 10:02 AM

Always brought ground coffee with us whether flying or driving. Never been questioned. We also bring powdered creamer, a can of tuna or chicken, lemon pepper and other food items in our checked on luggage.
We've done this flying in and out of dozens of airports all over Mexico, Belize, Guatemala, Baja, etc.
Never had a problem retrieving our checked in luggage and going through the scanners at any airport, including our carry on(s). They seem more concerned with large shampoo than anything else.

pauldavidmena - 1-30-2019 at 10:11 AM

I was just directed to this website, which seems to have a fairly comprehensive list of what can and can't be brought into Mexico.

Timinator - 1-30-2019 at 10:15 AM

I bring coffee back from Oaxaca every trip down there. I bring back 3 kilos or so. It's legal and not a problem.

pauldavidmena - 1-30-2019 at 10:25 AM