BajaNomad

Intro post

matthew_mangus - 10-7-2019 at 12:49 PM

Hello Baja Nomads

I've been lurking and taking notes for a couple of years and figured it was finally time to create an account. Internet forums are dying as Facebook Groups become a more useful resource, but they still have immense value when searching out specific information.

I'm an avid explorer (and amateur photographer) based out of Portland, Oregon. I am fortunate that my work life (Creative Director for mangai.rollin - an experiential and content marketing agency working in the automotive, outdoors and vices industries) allows me the opportunity to explore and spend time outdoors all over the Western U.S., Baja and B.C.. I average 40-50 days a year camping.

I've been traveling to Baja for 5-6 years but only recently began driving down in Feb of this year. I was instantly hooked and have begun making plans to make a yearly winter trip to Baja. I like to travel with like-minded fun-loving souls and often plan group trips.

I am an experienced 4x4 driver. I bought a '73 FJ40 in the mid-nineties and started rock crawling but have matured into interests in remote exploration in moderately rugged terrain. I do this mostly in my '03 100 Series. I have two '03 LCs at the moment and am planning on placing one in Baja so that I can increase and improve my access to its treasures.

I am interested in privately sharing special locations and interesting routes. I say privately bc I have become adverse to oversharing via geotagging over the years and often don't share locations publicly unless the locations are already well known.

I'm active on various FB groups and will post photos share & info there. The photo requirements here are too restrictive to bother with so I will simply share an outbound link to one of my photo galleries.