BajaNomad

Fishing cranking up in Bahia Asuncion...finally!

shari - 8-26-2020 at 03:56 PM

The ocean temps here are just starting to warm up with the last storm so fishing has been belated but cranking up now with yellowtail, dorado, too much bonita and some nice grouper! Halibut are plentiful from shore too.
Here are some highlights from this week!
our own Nomad Dtbushpilot started off the week.

the spearos Willy & Alexwere so stoked!

I finally got to sharpen up my sashimi knife!

SFandH - 8-26-2020 at 04:19 PM

Chow time!!

Yellowtail are a jack, right? Amberjack?

Any yellowfin tuna ever come around?

I'm a rookie fisherman, at best.

thebajarunner - 8-26-2020 at 05:01 PM

Best day of fishing ever was a Sunday morning in early spring when Shari arranged for one of the local guys took half dozen of us out in his panga.
Don't know what the species but we hauled in so many 3 to 6 pounders that I though we would sink the boat.

On the way back to shore we ran into a big fog bank so he would run the motor for a couple minutes, then shut it off and listen for the surf, or better yet, the waves crashing on the rocks.
Needless to say, this got pretty exciting, but after about 20 minutes of on/off we spotted the opening in the shoreline rocks and went ashore.

Our panguero took all the fish, his wife made the biggest tub of ceviche ever and we brought a couple dozen bottles of vino blanco. All the neighbors showed up. We were local heros for the rest of our stay.....We told him to spread the remaining pieces around the neighborhood which added to our fame....

David K - 8-26-2020 at 05:30 PM

Oh man... DTBushPilot looks happy! I remember Shari's yellowtail sashimi!

shari - 8-26-2020 at 06:30 PM

Quote: Originally posted by SFandH  
Chow time!!

Yellowtail are a jack, right? Amberjack?

Any yellowfin tuna ever come around?

I'm a rookie fisherman, at best.