BajaNomad

Where was the Old Main Road, you ask?

David K - 5-24-2021 at 03:51 PM

I posted this a few years ago, under another thread.
It deserves its own thread, as there has been some interest in locating the old road. With Nomads like geoffff, PaulW, StuckSucks, 4x4abc, and others enjoying making maps, maybe we can improve on how I attempted to show the road I traveled in 1966 compared to the one I have been traveling since 1974 (the first full year of the new highway)?

Note that the satellite images are not all facing north as some are facing south. See the compass in the top right corner.

Quote: Originally posted by David K  
El Rosario to San Ignacio:

There are many places you can see, drive on the old road where Hwy. 1 isn't on top of it. Much of the distance, the old road is within a mile or two of the new. The old road served as a pilot road and to bring supplies in to the construction crew. However, the main road of the 1960's went from Rosarito south then southeast to El Arco then south to El Tablon (which is just east of Vizcaino). The new highway was built south to north here and headed from near El Tablon NW to Guerrero Negro the north to Rosarito. The northbound crews did not meet the southbound crews until San Ignacito (just 10 km. or so south of Santa Ynez).

San Ignacio to just past Bahia Concepcion:

The old and new roads are very close if not the same location. Along Bahia Concepcion, the old road was closer to the water, even dipping in the water at high tide while much of the new graded road (since 1970) was higher up or more inland... and was paved in 1972.

Bahia Concepcion to Insurgentes:

The old road cut across Baja through Comondu then south. The new highway goes south to Loreto and on to Ligui before crossing west to Insurgentes.