BajaNomad

Road to Agua Verde in Subaru?

dusty.rambler - 1-9-2023 at 02:51 PM

Hello Nomads,

I've been a long time lurker, but first post. Taking the family for a two week tour of Baja in my wife's 2020 Subaru Forester (AWD, good new AT tires). I would usually take my 4x4 Tacoma, but the boss (wife) thinks the Subaru will be more comfortable.

I understand that there was some heavy storms last fall and I'm wondering if anyone has been down to Agua Verde lately and can tell me if clearance would be an issue in my vehicle? I'm an experienced off road driver, but AWD is not 4x4 and there are no low gears. I also want to visit the hot spring at San Cosme, but am not opposed to walking the final stretch.

Thanks in advance for the input!

Welcome to the forum!

AKgringo - 1-9-2023 at 03:00 PM

Your Subaru should be fine on that road. I did not drive down there when I passed by the turn-off in October, but I ate at the restaurant at the intersection.

I asked about the road conditions, and they basically said "No problemo" at that time. Most of the traffic using that road are two wheel drive.

I really like that road!

David K - 1-9-2023 at 04:00 PM

The Subaru will likely be fine, but the 4x4 Tacoma is the #1 Baja vehicle of choice for many Nomads! Have a portable air pump for refilling tire air after deflating to cross sand.. or fix puncture (get a tire plug kit). I have owned three 4x4 Subarus (before they went to AWD) and three Toyota Tacoma 4x4 Off Road TRD trucks. Like other Nomads, I am on Tacoma World forums, too.

Hook - 1-9-2023 at 07:29 PM

I really think you can make the Tacoma as comfortable as the Forester if you air down and get cushions for the seats (generally, Walmart has inexpensive seat cushions and a good selection). Toyota seats kinda suck. Subaru SUV seats might be more comfortable; I don't know.