BajaNomad
Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Southern Baja Road and Hotel questions.
Bagheera

[*] posted on 11-7-2003 at 02:20 PM
Southern Baja Road and Hotel questions.

I'm a San Diego resident who's only seen northern BC. I've never travelled further south than San Felipe and Ensanada. This Thanksgiving, I'm taking a week-long trip down Hwy. 1 to Loreto and back. I will stay in Gerrero Negro, San Ignacio, Mulege, and Loreto. I have a few questions about this trip:

--How are the roads? I've driven Mexico 1-D (excellent grade) and Mexico 3 (rough, but driveable). How does Mexico 1 south of Ensanada compare to these two roadways? I estimate an average speed of 50mph on these roads. Is that speed reasonable?

--I'm not making hotel reservations beforehand, as the only hotels that accept reservations online are outrageously priced. How likely am I to get a room without a reservation? Can I get a room equivalent to an American 2-star hotel for $50 a night?

--How's the Gringo factor over Thanksgiving? I'm really loooking to escape the US for a week, and if I don't see a single American the whole time I'm in Baja, I'll be happy as a clam.

Many thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.
fishinrich
Nomad

[*] posted on 11-7-2003 at 04:17 PM

The road is fine, there will be lots of hotels in your price range and there will be more gringos than mexicans. Here in los barriles/buena vista all the gringos are back in town and I am sure it is like that in any town that has any thing to offer. fishin rich
TMW
Select Nomad

[*] posted on 11-7-2003 at 05:46 PM

Fishinrich is right. I would add, keep your gas tank full, some places don't always have gas. Most will agree it's best to drive during daylight. Same common sense for the south as in the north. Most of all enjoy it all.

[Edited on 11-8-2003 by TW]
Debra
Super Nomad

[*] posted on 11-7-2003 at 05:51 PM
Rich is right.....

It's 'snowbird' season in Baja.