Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Interesting opinions on BN Board
capn.sharky
Senior Nomad

[*] posted on 4-19-2006 at 07:31 AM
Interesting opinions on BN Board

I addressed the board with a single question and stirred up a hornets nest. Answers went from "should be off topic" to a quote from Ted Roosevelt. Roosevelt (who I liked when I studied about him) was wrong if he was quoted correctly. America is the "Great Melting Pot". From Texas west to California, our towns are named in Spanish and we enjoy the food of Mexico. Try to find a good taco in Maine, for example. We celebrate Cinco de Mayo---while in Mexico it is no big deal, except in Puebla. Everyones opinions were appreciated even though they varied from pro Mexican to anti illegal immigration. I would have thought this board would be more pro immigration than say, a construction union board. One hit on the real problem---that of fining employers for the hiring of illegals. Like drugs coming up from Mexico---isn't the real problem here in America where they find a market for illegal drugs? As for being off topic---I didn't think it was off topic since it involved talking about illegal immigration with our Mexican friends in Baja. Of all the answers, and all were valid, I would have to agree with Skeets idea. After all, how do you round up 11 Million illegal Mexicans and deport them? More important is how can the government target one group and not the other groups that have gotten into the country illegally. That would seem to be against our constitution. Lastly, as for Mexico taking over our western states, I find that highly unlikely. Skeeter is right---find them, check them out and if no problems with their background, legalize them. Build a fence to keep more from coming and send the ones with criminal backgrounds back to Mexico. But, find all illegal immigrants (arabic, chinese, etc. and run them through the system. Fear is behind all of this problem.....same as with the Afr