Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Baja PFM
bajajudy
Elite Nomad

wow.gif posted on 6-28-2006 at 08:51 AM
Baja PFM

While visiting La Paz this past week, my husband HAD to go into the new bookstore in town. It is in the old gov?t building right across from Dorians. I left him in there to drool over all the books and headed to Dorians.
When we hooked back up he told me this story: He was looking at the books and this nice young man came up to him and said, ?Can you help me?? Jim said,? Well I don?t know?? Ok enough of all that punctuation?The kid was looking for a book in English and needed the author as that is how the records are kept in this store. At this point Jim is wondering if he has a sign on his forehead that says?I am a book salesman? or if someone has taped a sign on his back that said the same. The kid says I need a copy of ?To Kill a Mockingbird? in Spanish do you know who wrote it. Jim says, Harper Lee, why do you ask(he is thinking?and more particularly why did you decide to ask me). The kid says that he looks American and he figured that he might know. So they continue a literary conversation for a while and then the kid asks so what can I do to help you since you helped me. Jim tells him what he does and the kid takes him over to introduce him to the manager of the store who speaks very little English. The kid has a degree in languages and is teaching English and German at the Universitad in La Paz. The manager tells Jim that she has many requests for books in English and will give the people our website and phone number and even perhaps buy some books from us. Jim and the kid parted company and Jim was still smiling when I saw him. He told me about this really nice kid he had met and how wonderful things like this happen all the time in Baja.