Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: baja veteran looking for new breaks
oldhippie
Banned

Mood: muted

[*] posted on 10-22-2006 at 11:47 AM
baja veteran looking for new breaks

I've been surfing baja since 1975 and have recently retired from the San Diego rat race. I used to go to Todos Santos/ San Pedrito / Pescadero at least annually and have had my best surfing experience at 9 palms on the East Cape.

But, alas, south of La Paz no longer interests me, to much development for my tastes.

Now that every day is a Saturday for me, I'm thinking about exploring the "horn" west of Guerro Negro from Bahia de Totugas south to Punta Abreojos and also the Laguna San Ignacio area. I have two goals in mind, a right point or reef longboard break and perhaps purchasing/renting a small lot suitable for a permanent trailer/palapa combo.

Mag bay is a possibility, but it's further away.

I have a Ford F-150 2 wheel drive long bed with a light camper shell and fat tires. I've gotten stuck in the sand many times in baja so I 've learned the hard way about driving close to the beach in remote areas.

Help this old hippie soul surfer and his dog Smiley find once more the baja of years past.

Any info about the area will be appreciated.

Peace and tranquility.

Oldhippie
losfrailes
Senior Nomad

Mood: Good!

[*] posted on 10-22-2006 at 11:52 AM

You might want to explore San Juanico. A bit south, but has a tremendous following amongst the surfing community.

Also called Scorpion Bay.

Good Luck

Here is a decent site dedicated to San Somewhere.

http://juanyjuan.com/

[Edited on 10-22-2006 by losfrailes]
chino
Nomad

[*] posted on 10-22-2006 at 12:02 PM

Sounds like fun Oldhippee!, I say just hit the road, it's hard to steer the car if it aint' movin'. I'm sure you'll come up with a few of your own favorites by the this time next year, good luck!
oldhippie
Banned

Mood: muted

[*] posted on 10-23-2006 at 09:12 AM