Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: GPS for bike?
Muddyrabbit
Junior Nomad

[*] posted on 6-5-2007 at 03:33 PM
GPS for bike?

Anyone here have any recomendations for a GPS to be mounted on my XR400? I'm just beginning to shop for one and thought I'd ask the Baja Nomad community for opinions.

Legislative Affairs Liaison, Ohio Motorized Trails Association
www.ohiotrails.org
NOHVCC Associate State Partner, Ohio
www.nohvcc.org
United we ride.
leadmoto
Junior Nomad

Mood: Froggy

[*] posted on 6-5-2007 at 04:00 PM

Check out www.Cycoactive.com, and www.gpsinformation.net for great information on GPS.

I have a Garmin 60CS that I have been using for Dualsport & Mountain Biking for a couple of years now. So far I am happy with it. Lots of good new stuff out there so do your homework.
vgabndo
Ultra Nomad

Mood: Checking-off my bucket list.

[*] posted on 6-5-2007 at 04:05 PM

I have no recommendation, but I was reading a ride report recently about the guided (for lack of a better description) "Dakar Wannabe" tours in Eastern Nevada.

Several GPS units fell off and few if any were ever found. If you're doing a velcro mount, you need a safety strap.

Keep us informed on your research please.

Undoubtedly, there are people who cannot afford to give the anchor of sanity even the slightest tug. Sam Harris

"The situation is far too dire for pessimism."
Bill Kauth

Carl Sagan said, "We are a way for the cosmos to know itself."

PEACE, LOVE AND FISH TACOS
tripledigitken
Ultra Nomad

[*] posted on 6-5-2007 at 04:18 PM

Also look at GPSCITY.com they sell Garmin and specialize in Motorcyle applications. I would also consider the Ram Mounts. They are very adaptable to any mounting situation. I have used both the Garmin and Ram mounts on 4 motorcycles.

Look at the Quest unit or for more $'s the 276c (which I currently run).