Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Latin America's informal economy
Dave
Elite Nomad

[*] posted on 12-10-2002 at 10:43 AM
Latin America's informal economy

Interesting and thought provoking article reprinted in today's Union-Tribune.

http://www.miami.com/mld/miamiherald/news/columnists/andres_...

Hernando de Soto is currently advising the Mexican government on how to reform it's economy. Any guess as to how this will play out?

Bajabus
Senior Nomad

Mood: My friends..it's good.

[*] posted on 12-10-2002 at 06:55 PM

that's a very accurate portrayal of the current state of affairs. Here in baja it's terrible. I have been running a buisness for 7 years and I used to think that it would get better but thats not true it has gotten worst. I have just about come to the conclusion that only gringo buisnesses pay taxes and are required to obey labor laws. Ok I know that some larger mexican firms do but hardly any. This year it has gotten really horrible. Now we are require to file monthly with hacienda, not only that but it must be done electronically that means that your govt lic. accountant which you must have by law needs your pin code to your account to do so. I balked and she said that what I could do is open another account and just deposit whatever amount needs to be paid in taxes. Ok sure so now I have to open another account with another minimum and more service fees and more headaches/paperwork. The my bank Banorte notified me that I will be charged 4 dollars for every 1,000 I deposit into my dollar account, a transaction fee for every transaction at the teller window, 52 pesos for each checkbook and 5.2 pesos for each check I write. This on an account that they pay .25% interest. They want to charge me for depositing money with them. I just about crapped my pants.. I asked the guys at the local PEMEX if the get paid double time on sunday or on holidays when they worked (like I am required to do with my 2 workers