Printable Version  
Author: Subject: For DianaT
sanquintinsince73
Super Nomad

[*] posted on 10-4-2010 at 09:06 AM
For DianaT

L.A. Times Article
El Tepeyac's Restaurant For Sale?

Right after I graduated from Rosemead High School in 1971 my girlfriend at the time brought me to El Tepeyac Restaurant in Boyle Heights, and I was forever hooked on their faire. Doing my best to keep my waist from matching my age I have cut down to visiting Manual and El Tepeyac’s to twice per month.

If you know Manual you know he loves playing the ponies, just bring him a Los Angeles Times and watch his face light up with elation as he scans the newspaper for the horses and the tout sheet.

When I read on LAObserved that the restaurant was up for sale I was filled with sadness as the new owners would most likely change the menu, to save a few dollars, and run off the regular clientele.

I’m pleased to learn, from LAObserved, that the property is for sale and not the restaurant.

So I will continue as a regular customer of El Tepeyac’s after thirty-eight years.

I know that you were a customer so I thought I'd share this with you, Diana. I still remember when Manuel got into trouble with his gambling and there was a U.S. Marshall standing at the cashier collecting all the money. There was Manny though, greeting all customers with a shot of Tequila.

Martyman
Super Nomad

[*] posted on 10-4-2010 at 09:29 AM

Manuels-quite a tradition. About 2 miles from where I grew up in Alhambra
DianaT
Select Nomad

[*] posted on 10-4-2010 at 09:32 AM

I fear that once the property sells, the business may be next to go. It will be a very sad day, indeed. El Tepeyac's is one of a kind--

Keep a watch over it!

elgatoloco
Ultra Nomad

[*] posted on 10-4-2010 at 10:05 AM