Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: MAUI AND MEMORIES
Marc
Ultra Nomad

Mood: Waiting

[*] posted on 11-20-2011 at 11:55 AM
MAUI AND MEMORIES

Kihie November 2011
Here are some pics taken two weeks ago on Maui. I have been hanging and vacationing there for over 35 years and i've seen many changes. The airport back then was a one level open air affair with no gangways to the aircraft. One walked out to the plane and climbed a stairway. The road out of airport had one light then and a very narrow two lane road through high cane fields to either Kihei or Lahaina on the lee side of the island. Now it's a large very modern airport (with luggage carousels even) surrounded by shopping centers and big stores on the way to super highways with wide shoulders and bike lanes.

Kihei had no side walks back then. Looked like this all through town. This is south of town at the last park beach.

Now its all sidewalks. Kinda lost its charm. Note the bike lane. Now they are everywhere. I used to Triathlon train on Maui in the early '80's. Back then no bike lanes anywhere. I would sneak onto cane field roads to get away from traffic.

Our view of Molokini, a little crescent shaped island that is popular with divers and snorkelers. In the background is Kahoolawe which is very well known to all blue water sailors in the US Navy Pacific Fleet. Back in 1959 we would land Marines on shore and they would spot fire control for our big shipboards guns. We would sit off shore and blast the #### out of the place. Great fun. Of course no one lives there.