Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Baja Pro's and Con's
castaway$
Senior Nomad

Mood: Fish on!

[*] posted on 12-4-2011 at 11:17 AM
Baja Pro's and Con's

I have been a member for quite awhile and while I am not a prolific poster like some I usually check the forums multiple times each day.
It seems recently there is a lot more "vigorous debate" regarding the Pro's and Con's of Baja. Maybe it is just a guage of the general disatisfaction people seem to have with our current politcal and economic situation and it manifests itself into a polarizing outlet with Baja taking the brunt because this is a common ground for us that are members of this cyber society.
Unfortunatley what happens more often now it seems is that the discussion gets heated, turns personal and people leave or lurk and quit contributing, Jesse being a good example.
There are multiple topic areas that don't get used, Baja 'toons and Baja travel packages are good examples, would it be possible to turn one of those into a forum to debate the pro's and con's of Baja?
I think there should be an outlet to inform everyone that is a member or just visits the site to learn about Baja and some of the negative aspects one might encounter on an adventure to the peninsula.
There certainly are a lot more positive aspects ( at least I think so), but those that bring up the negativity have a right to expose their opinions to everyone and the problem seems to be that people on the other end of the spectrum become offended that someone is attacking their beloved Baja.
Now I am not naive and I know posts that offend others because they are not positive in nature will still be placed under other topics but this could be a place for the moderators to move them to and it would be like Off topic- enter at your own risk.
Hopefully over time people would just start posting the topics discussing the pro's and con's in the appropriate area and the rest of us wouldn't have to be exposed to arguments that ensue.