BajaNomad
Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Kayak fishing- what areas up to Bahia de Los Angeles do you recommend
JoelovesBaja

[*] posted on 9-24-2013 at 09:09 PM
Kayak fishing- what areas up to Bahia de Los Angeles do you recommend

Hi,
I'm a beginner with my Kayak. I would like to do some weekend trips to Baja and fish using my Kayak. Areas from San Felpe upto Bahia de Los Angeles.

Can you guys recommend areas and any other pointers

Thanks
paranewbi
Senior Nomad

[*] posted on 9-25-2013 at 04:39 AM

Welcome JLB (hope that abbreviation is ok...) We take our tandem kayak to Gonzaga Bay a couple of hours south of San Felipe. All paved road now so should be a good beginners adventure. We stay at Papa Fernandez's for $5 a day in a rustic camp (rustic in outhouses) right on the waters edge of a good and easy launch beach, wind protected pretty much, with plenty of catchable fish close in for short paddles. Papa's has a website with cam and weather reports for your viewing.
We have also taken the kayak to BOLA but the wind is a little less protected there and can limit water time for us kayak people. But BOLA is a beautiful place and has plenty of places to camp/launch as well as an abundance of provisions/gas. Also all accessible by paved road from the north.
Others here can tell you of the unpaved portions if you decide to go to BOLA via Gonzaga.
Enjoy!!
Pescador
Ultra Nomad

[*] posted on 9-25-2013 at 05:58 AM

That whole section is awesome. Now that the road is better, you can explore the whole area. But in Baja to go from San Felipe to BOLA is considered down.

dizzyspots
Senior Nomad

Mood: rather be on the beach at Gonzaga

[*] posted on 9-25-2013 at 06:12 AM

Gonzaga Bay...further south at either Rancho Grande or Campo Beluga...all the way south at Punta Final has several coves to explore as well...googlemaps will show you a lot