Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: GPS Info
Anonymous
Unregistered

[*] posted on 8-31-2003 at 02:01 PM
GPS Info

I have never owned or operated a GPS before...so I'm a complete newbie. I'm heading to Baja for the first time in years and I want to be able to create "Hand-drawn" type maps of where I go & camp in the mountians & beaches. I will be taking a laptop with me.

Can anybody give me an idea of what would be an economical starter unit for me? Plus any equipment & baja map software for interfacing with the laptop.

Thanks in advance
Tommy D.
Neal Johns
Super Nomad

Mood: In love!

[*] posted on 8-31-2003 at 05:33 PM

Garmin (www.garmin.com) has most of the GPS business. They have the best maps of the US but no one has good Baja Maps for use with a GPS!

Garmin and maybe others, have a base map of the US and Mexico/Baja in most of their units but just MEX !, 3,5 etc. is shown.

You are in luck since you have a laptop. Scan the excellent maps from the Baja Almanac, use OziExplorer software (http://www.oziexplorer.com/) in your laptop, connect the GPS to your serial port and you are in business. The Baja Almanac roads will show on your laptop and you will leave a "snail trail" wherever you drive which can be saved.

There are no GPSs that will let you download your own maps directly into the GPS. They like to sell their own maps-too bad they don't sell Baja maps.

My motto:
Never let a Dragon pass by without pulling its tail!
Anonymous
Unregistered

[*] posted on 9-1-2003 at 11:47 AM
Thanks

I checked out Ozi Explorer. Their 3D feature is awesome!! I'm not sure how...if I scan a map...the software can tell the GPS where I am...(or vice versa). I guess I'll learn as I go :?: Won't be the first time:Droll

Thanks for your help...TD
Capt. George
Super Nomad

[*] posted on 9-1-2003 at 12:51 PM
GPS