Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: First Timer
photograham

[*] posted on 10-28-2015 at 07:34 PM
First Timer

This has been on my bucket list for a while.
I'm considering driving from San Francisco to the tip of Cabo to pick up my lovely wife and spend a week at Rancho Pescadero for the Todos Santos music festival... second week of Jan. We have been to Rancho Pescadero several times but this would be my first time driving down.
I've heard so many horror stories of traveling through the Baja.
I'm not fluent in Spanish but am learning enough to get by. I've driven all over the world so that's not an issue. My friends say if I take my new'ish Toyota Tacoma, I'd be high jack'ed in a heart beat. I do plan on bringing a lot of photo gear, as I'm a photographer by trade.
My wife is very concerned with me driving alone down the Baja.
What's your take?... any info, suggestions, cautions, greatly appreciated!

[Edited on 10-29-2015 by photograham]

TMW
Select Nomad

[*] posted on 10-28-2015 at 07:56 PM

Not a problem. Just take precautions as if you were driving back to St Louis. I would recommend not driving at night. Watch your speed especially in cities. You will find many people speak English at the hotels, restaurants and PEMEX stations. But it is really good to say what you can in Spanish. Take plenty of pesos especially for gas. Smile and be kind and have fun.
mtnpop
Senior Nomad

[*] posted on 10-28-2015 at 08:22 PM

little things to remember... or a reminder

camera gear, electronics.. keep out of sight even when parked,, double check doors are locked... nothing in bed of truck while you go in for tacos or bano.... not always but if its loose its fair game a lot...
watch the pump when filling up, make sure it is zeroed out,, there are other trick some play.. just always be the pleasant gringo....