Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Cosmic Billboard
Osprey
Ultra Nomad

[*] posted on 6-8-2017 at 12:40 PM
Cosmic Billboard

Some of my Nomad readers like an occasional essay. If you'll permit, here's a short one I wrote about a year ago and I'll then I'll get back to Baja stuff.

Space Travel and Cosmic Billboards

I had a dream. I was a grade school or high school teacher holding class with a bunch of fresh faced students. Someone mentioned aliens from space and the kids wanted to know more about that. I walked to the chalk board and began to tell them what I know about the cosmos and space travel. I scribbled and mumbled and made a fool of myself in front of my own students.

The dream was so real that when I awoke I felt myself a little flushed and flustered. I’ve never been a teacher and most of the time I was a poor student so I wasn’t sure where the discomfort was coming from. After a big breakfast I turned on my old clunker computer to see if I could learn a little about what had me red faced and wanting.

I don’t know what I thought was waiting for me out there in cyber-library land but what I found kept me glued to the monitor and keyboard all day and into the night. The next day I dug deeper and every little info rabbit hole took me deeper into scores of other related subjects that bore on the shoulda, woulda, coulda of space travel.

Not long into the exercise I began to realize most of the learning/teaching problems were coming from perspectives unfamiliar to humans on a visual basis. Had to keep reminding myself that we are used to looking at T.V. screens, computer monitors, handheld gadgets and a lot of things about aliens and space don’t fit those things. To make comparisons of objects, we are fond of using the Empire State Building, the Washington Monument, the pyramids at Giza. With travel, distance, speed: we use MPH, NASCAR racers, rockets and football fields.