BajaNomad
Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: first time to Baja
llirttoc

[*] posted on 12-21-2018 at 08:21 AM
first time to Baja

I have been lurking here for a few years dreaming of exploring the Baja on my motorcycle (Yamaha super tenere). Very long story made very short, lol I now find myself in Yuma ready to cross the border but I am scared to do it alone for the first time.
Anyone planing on going that would not mind me tagging along? I'm low maintenance. Once I am comfortable I'll probably wonder off on my own. My schedule is very flexible, I am a laid off pipeline welder from Ohio so I am out of my comfort zone. I also have an awesome set of tools and can fix/repair almost anything. Bike is well maintained with new tires.
I would also like any helpful advice.
bajaguy
Elite Nomad

Mood: must be 5 O'clock somewhere in Baja

[*] posted on 12-21-2018 at 08:49 AM

Cross into Baja at Tecate, Hwy 3 south to Ensenada is in great shape. Get your FMM at the border (will need your passport), get pesos at bank ATM's, watch out for potholes and don't drive (ride at night)....any other info will be unnecessary
DaliDali
Super Nomad

[*] posted on 12-21-2018 at 09:06 AM

Or, since your in Yuma now, take Hwy 195 south to the San Luis Rio Colorado border crossing, get the FMM there and take the first right turn (west) onto MX highway 2D.

Don't speed or run red lights or fail to stop at stop signs....just like back in Ohio.

Speed limit signs are posted in kilometers per hour...not miles per hour.

basautter
Senior Nomad

[*] posted on 12-21-2018 at 09:18 AM

It should not be too hard to find a group to join, I have had several solo adventurers join my groups over the years. Try hanging out at El Cortez in San Felipe. That is a major launch point for trips to the south. Have fun!
weebray
Super Nomad

Mood: lleno

[*] posted on 12-21-2018 at 09:47 AM