Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Permanent Resident
BigOly
Senior Nomad

Mood: Easy Birder

[*] posted on 3-22-2019 at 01:12 PM
Permanent Resident

I am a permanent resident in Baja. Will my new wife automatically become one and/or what's the process for getting her green card?

Just read this so I guess No is the answer.
A foreign spouse or common-law partner of a Mexican citizen or foreigner holding permanent resident status in Mexico may not, under any circumstances, be issued a permanent resident visa. Upon maintaining temporary resident status for a period of two years, the person may apply to the National Migration Institute for permanent resident status, provided the matrimonial or common-law relationship remains in force.

[Edited on 3-22-2019 by BigOly]

gnukid
Ultra Nomad

[*] posted on 3-22-2019 at 01:32 PM

No, as spouse of a permanent resident she can qualify for temp residency for 2 years, then become permanent resident, or elect to stay with a FMM. Or the Spouse can pursue PR on their own, just as you have done.

Of course, you should contact the INM or Consul for the latest policy wobble. I believe there is a 800 English info phone number too?
Alm
Ultra Nomad

[*] posted on 3-22-2019 at 03:15 PM

There is really no difference in living with temporary resident status VS permanent resident, - other than that she will need to change TR to PR later. If she is still you spouse by then, and still wants to live there.

Regardless of her immigration plans, you must notify INM in written no later than 90 days after marriage.
surabi
Ultra Nomad

[*] posted on 3-22-2019 at 10:23 PM

Quote: Originally posted by Alm  
There is really no difference in living with temporary resident status VS permanent resident

That's not quite true.
If one wants to stay on temporary residency, they'd have to re-apply for that status every 4 years from a consulate outside of Mexico.
A permanent resident can't drive a foreign-plated car.