BajaNomad
Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
 Pages:  1    3
Author: Subject: starlink now taking orders
willardguy
Elite Nomad
******




Posts: 6059
Registered: 9-19-2009
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 03:33 PM
starlink now taking orders


worth a try!

https://www.yahoo.com/news/spacex-starts-accepting-orders-st...
View user's profile
mtgoat666
Select Nomad
*******




Posts: 13601
Registered: 9-16-2006
Location: San Diego
Member Is Offline

Mood: Very stable genius!

[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 03:58 PM


I looked into pre-ordering, but found that the vendor does not allow you use service at different locations. I wanted to use in WA and MEX. At this time you can only select one location for your account, and according to info on their website they don't allow you to change location linked to your account.
The issue is that your account/transmitter/receiver is location-based, and linked to just the satellites that service that location.

Service is meant for homebodies, not nomads :?:




Woke!

“...ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country.” “My fellow citizens of the world: ask not what America will do for you, but what together we can do for the freedom of man.”

View user's profile
willardguy
Elite Nomad
******




Posts: 6059
Registered: 9-19-2009
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 04:11 PM


Quote: Originally posted by mtgoat666  
I looked into pre-ordering, but found that the vendor does not allow you use service at different locations. I wanted to use in WA and MEX. At this time you can only select one location for your account, and according to info on their website they don't allow you to change location linked to your account.
The issue is that your account/transmitter/receiver is location-based, and linked to just the satellites that service that location.

Service is meant for homebodies, not nomads :?:


Elon claims it'll work barreling down the highway at 60 assuming you keep the antenna pointed! don't know how you do that?

from starlink.....Mobility options - including moving your Starlink to different service addresses (or places that don't even have addresses!) - is coming once we are able to increase our coverage by launching more satellites & rolling out new hardware and software.

so I guess it'll be coming down the road

[Edited on 2-9-2021 by willardguy]
View user's profile
mtgoat666
Select Nomad
*******




Posts: 13601
Registered: 9-16-2006
Location: San Diego
Member Is Offline

Mood: Very stable genius!

[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 04:49 PM


Quote: Originally posted by willardguy  
Quote: Originally posted by mtgoat666  
I looked into pre-ordering, but found that the vendor does not allow you use service at different locations. I wanted to use in WA and MEX. At this time you can only select one location for your account, and according to info on their website they don't allow you to change location linked to your account.
The issue is that your account/transmitter/receiver is location-based, and linked to just the satellites that service that location.

Service is meant for homebodies, not nomads :?:


Elon claims it'll work barreling down the highway at 60 assuming you keep the antenna pointed! don't know how you do that?

from starlink.....Mobility options - including moving your Starlink to different service addresses (or places that don't even have addresses!) - is coming once we are able to increase our coverage by launching more satellites & rolling out new hardware and software.

so I guess it'll be coming down the road

[Edited on 2-9-2021 by willardguy]


i just read about what they are offering in their beta rollout...
service is limited to the geographic "cell" of location you sign up for. unit cannot be removed from that "cell."






Woke!

“...ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country.” “My fellow citizens of the world: ask not what America will do for you, but what together we can do for the freedom of man.”

View user's profile
Rossman
Nomad
**




Posts: 183
Registered: 10-6-2013
Location: Bahia Asuncion
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 04:52 PM


Done! After a string of 2190 great days here in Baja, the day I say goodbye to my current provider just might be the greatest.
View user's profile
John Harper
Super Nomad
****




Posts: 1536
Registered: 3-9-2017
Location: SoCal
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 05:41 PM


Quote: Originally posted by mtgoat666  
Quote: Originally posted by willardguy  
Quote: Originally posted by mtgoat666  
I looked into pre-ordering, but found that the vendor does not allow you use service at different locations. I wanted to use in WA and MEX. At this time you can only select one location for your account, and according to info on their website they don't allow you to change location linked to your account.
The issue is that your account/transmitter/receiver is location-based, and linked to just the satellites that service that location.

Service is meant for homebodies, not nomads :?:


Elon claims it'll work barreling down the highway at 60 assuming you keep the antenna pointed! don't know how you do that?

from starlink.....Mobility options - including moving your Starlink to different service addresses (or places that don't even have addresses!) - is coming once we are able to increase our coverage by launching more satellites & rolling out new hardware and software.

so I guess it'll be coming down the road

[Edited on 2-9-2021 by willardguy]


i just read about what they are offering in their beta rollout...
service is limited to the geographic "cell" of location you sign up for. unit cannot be removed from that "cell."


You seem rather impatient (and oddly critical) about a technology that is just now being "deployed." Have patience, little one. Do you want to eat the marshmallow now, or a better reward later?

John
View user's profile
PaulW
Super Nomad
****




Posts: 2253
Registered: 5-21-2013
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 06:07 PM


way expensive
Starlink @ $99/mo for 50Mb/s
My wireless @ $70/mo for 10Mb/s
Telcel and Telnor wireless @ $20/mo for 9-10Mb/s
Remind me to switch to Telcel or Telnor when my renewal runs out.
View user's profile
msteve1014
Senior Nomad
***




Posts: 909
Registered: 12-2-2006
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 07:23 PM


Quote: Originally posted by PaulW  
way expensive
Starlink @ $99/mo for 50Mb/s
My wireless @ $70/mo for 10Mb/s
Telcel and Telnor wireless @ $20/mo for 9-10Mb/s
Remind me to switch to Telcel or Telnor when my renewal runs out.
you are in the san felipe area?
View user's profile
willardguy
Elite Nomad
******




Posts: 6059
Registered: 9-19-2009
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 07:32 PM


originally Elon's plan was to use the Starlink proceeds to fund the Mars program, wonder if thats still the plan?
View user's profile
mtgoat666
Select Nomad
*******




Posts: 13601
Registered: 9-16-2006
Location: San Diego
Member Is Offline

Mood: Very stable genius!

[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 08:06 PM


Quote: Originally posted by PaulW  
way expensive
Starlink @ $99/mo for 50Mb/s
My wireless @ $70/mo for 10Mb/s
Telcel and Telnor wireless @ $20/mo for 9-10Mb/s
Remind me to switch to Telcel or Telnor when my renewal runs out.


It is expensive. But worth it if you are off grid and out of range of cell towers or wifi.




Woke!

“...ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country.” “My fellow citizens of the world: ask not what America will do for you, but what together we can do for the freedom of man.”

View user's profile
PaulW
Super Nomad
****




Posts: 2253
Registered: 5-21-2013
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 09:04 PM


In/near San Felipe
We have 4 providers now that I know of. One I did not mention provides wireless service from Mexicali. I do not know the source but I suspect Telnor. It is priced priced above my $70/mo
Actually Telnor wireless is using Telcel with slightly different pricing
View user's profile
2lazy2
Newbie





Posts: 3
Registered: 3-17-2020
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 09:08 PM


Put down deposit... Worth it to get rid of Spectrum
View user's profile
PaulW
Super Nomad
****




Posts: 2253
Registered: 5-21-2013
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-10-2021 at 09:51 AM


Quote: Originally posted by mtgoat666  
Quote: Originally posted by PaulW  
way expensive
Starlink @ $99/mo for 50Mb/s
My wireless @ $70/mo for 10Mb/s
Telcel and Telnor wireless @ $20/mo for 9-10Mb/s
Remind me to switch to Telcel or Telnor when my renewal runs out.


It is expensive. But worth it if you are off grid and out of range of cell towers or wifi.

=== =
Totally agree. Internet connection is required.
I guess all the other sat options are frowned upon or cost more?
View user's profile
Don Pisto
Nomad
**




Posts: 358
Registered: 8-1-2018
Location: El Pescador
Member Is Offline

Mood: weary like everyone else

[*] posted on 2-10-2021 at 09:58 AM


Quote: Originally posted by PaulW  
Quote: Originally posted by mtgoat666  
Quote: Originally posted by PaulW  
way expensive
Starlink @ $99/mo for 50Mb/s
My wireless @ $70/mo for 10Mb/s
Telcel and Telnor wireless @ $20/mo for 9-10Mb/s
Remind me to switch to Telcel or Telnor when my renewal runs out.


It is expensive. But worth it if you are off grid and out of range of cell towers or wifi.

=== =
Totally agree. Internet connection is required.
I guess all the other sat options are frowned upon or cost more?


"Starlink satellites are over 60 times closer to Earth than traditional satellites, resulting in lower latency and the ability to support services typically not possible with traditional satellite internet," when fully up and running this will be a game changer:D




there's only two things in life but I forget what they are........
John Hiatt
View user's profile
PaulW
Super Nomad
****




Posts: 2253
Registered: 5-21-2013
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-10-2021 at 10:29 AM


Anybody have latency comparison for the various Sat Internet outfits?
Pretty sure Starlink will have the lowest.
View user's profile
caj13
Senior Nomad
***




Posts: 881
Registered: 8-1-2017
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-10-2021 at 12:08 PM


I have "signed up" for it, as my 2 choices in the mountains of california defy the laws of Physics - They suck and blow at the same time!
switched from fiber optic local company because it was too unstable, having to be reset several times a week, stupid me believed Hughes Net marketing BullChit - in reality expensive - very slow garbage - much slower than dial up even!

as soon as starlink becomes available in my area I will be switching.

I think there are some UTube videos comparing latency rates and delivery speed rates etc, by some of the beta testers

[Edited on 2-10-2021 by caj13]
View user's profile
pacificobob
Super Nomad
****




Posts: 1482
Registered: 4-23-2006
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-10-2021 at 12:28 PM


what sort of data speed can one expect from satellite ISP.
View user's profile
white whale
Nomad
**


Avatar


Posts: 140
Registered: 12-15-2015
Location: canada
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-10-2021 at 02:42 PM


I thought the service rollout was only for the northern CAN/USA latt's right now. Not cheap. But I have seen a video report that the geo "fencing" to your address is just marketing hype. A fellow in my area in the 50's latitude took the dish way into the back country from his urban address and got decent service off a logging road.

The rollout here is being called Better than Nothing beta.




This ain't no party, this ain't no disco, this ain't no foolin' around Life During Wartime - Talking Heads '79
View user's profile
tecatero
Nomad
**




Posts: 178
Registered: 11-20-2013
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-12-2021 at 07:34 AM


I see the $99 deposit. Anyone know the Package ,monthly cost , and is it unlimited GBs
?
View user's profile
PaulW
Super Nomad
****




Posts: 2253
Registered: 5-21-2013
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 2-12-2021 at 07:55 AM


A little digging found:
How much will Starlink internet cost? $99 a month, plus $499 for the antenna and router for a 40 ghz array
Musk claims frequencies are
Downlink 37.5-42.5
Uplink 47.2-50.2 or 50.4-52.4 GHz
An Amazing Phase array antenna that sets a new standard for such.

(Details from a guy who designs and is employed making these kind of antennas).



View user's profile
 Pages:  1    3

  Go To Top

 






All Content Copyright 1997- Q87 International; All Rights Reserved.
Powered by XMB; XMB Forum Software © 2001-2014 The XMB Group






"If it were lush and rich, one could understand the pull, but it is fierce and hostile and sullen. The stone mountains pile up to the sky and there is little fresh water. But we know we must go back if we live, and we don't know why." - Steinbeck, Log from the Sea of Cortez

 

"People don't care how much you know, until they know how much you care." - Theodore Roosevelt

 

"You can easily judge the character of others by how they treat those who they think can do nothing for them or to them." - Malcolm Forbes

 

"Let others lead small lives, but not you. Let others argue over small things, but not you. Let others cry over small hurts, but not you. Let others leave their future in someone else's hands, but not you." - Jim Rohn







Thank you to Baja Bound Mexico Insurance Services for your long-term support of the BajaNomad.com Forums site.







Emergency Baja Contacts Include:

Desert Hawks; El Rosario-based ambulance transport; Emergency #: (616) 103-0262