BajaNomad
Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
 Pages:  1    3
Author: Subject: Advice for 3-day San Diego to Cabo Roadtrip?
sohailcoelho

[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 03:59 PM
Advice for 3-day San Diego to Cabo Roadtrip?

Hi Bajanomad friends:

I'm doing my first drive down to cabo from san diego and would love some advice. I'm been dying to do this trip but a few people's sketchy experiences is making me nervous (mostly due to police checkpoints) and I wanted to hear from this crew. Any advice on the following:

1) Safety Concerns w/ Police checkpoints: I'm driving my 2017 Acura RDX with Oregon plates. And am a brown guy (of Indian origin) with two full sleeves of tattoos. I'm a business consultant but I heard tatted people being targeted by the police checkpoints as they think they have drugs. any concerns with my tatts or my car. it seems ridiculous to ask but just wanna be cautious. thoughts?

2) Cities: any recommendations on cities to break the journey into 3 days? I'll take more time on the way back up in a couple months, but just want to get down there sooner.

3) Hwy 5 via Mexicali vs Hwy 1 via TJ. any advice? google maps says #5 and I heard Mexicali is easier.

thanks all. appreciate the help.

David K
Honored Nomad

Mood: Have Baja Fever

[*] posted on 2-9-2021 at 04:36 PM

3 days to Cabo will be nothing more than a driving trip with not much to try and see or enjoy. ALL of Baja is BEFORE you get to Cabo... Just fyi.

The checkpoints are manned by the army not police and all they are searching for is drugs, guns, and ammo. If you are a hunter, make sure no loose shells or rounds are anywhere. No marijuana, you are not in the USA anymore. That's all. There can be Federal Police checks, but only if you are a criminal do you need to worry!