BajaNomad

Need a job

pascuale - 12-9-2007 at 05:37 PM

I frequent this board and have for a while. I know this doesnt have anything to to with baja but im looking for any good job ideas for a 25 year old who loves baja, fishing, and the outdoors. I have a business degree from Point Loma Nazarene and worked for Enterprise Rent-A-Car. I think some of you guys/gals might have some good ideas. Thanks
Ethan

BajaGeoff - 12-9-2007 at 07:37 PM

How about working for a private fishing charter boat? You would get to be outdoors, off the Baja coast, and obviously.....getting the opportunity to do some fishing. Check the link below!

http://www.hmlanding.com/private.htm

pascuale - 12-9-2007 at 10:47 PM

Already do in the summer on the Dolphin II. Great idea though. Too bad its mostly a summer time thing. I need a career though now. thanks

bajaguy - 12-9-2007 at 10:56 PM

Check it out:

http://dps.nv.gov/personnel/index.shtml

DPS badge.jpg - 19kB

pascuale - 12-9-2007 at 11:33 PM

Thanks for the info. Looks cool!

pascuale - 12-9-2007 at 11:34 PM

im also applying for the BP as well. long process but got a 92 on my test, so thats a start. Its always good to get new ideas.

vandy - 12-10-2007 at 05:13 AM

Y'know, Ethan, if you really love "fishing, Baja and the outdoors", you could do what I did (and continue doing).

When I was a few years younger than you, I decided that retirement is wasted on the old, and started taking mine in chunks. I first moved to Vermont, and then Colorado, living right next to ski areas nd working construction to pay for my winters off skiing.

Then I went to Baja in 1985 at the age of 25 and fell in love with the place.

Since then, I have been working maybe three months per year, dispensing with such costly encumbrances as kids, property, renting, car payments and US health care.

I found that I can spend time doing what I love in the US, Canada and Mexico for most of the year while working less and less.