BajaNomad

What?? Montezuma's Revenge AGAIN???

Pages:  1  

EnsenadaDr - 8-29-2014 at 08:33 AM

As I am reviewing Facebook messages, it seems Montezuma's Revenge has taken a hold of the Baja Community. While studying for the US Medical Boards I discovered and want to share a little secret. Bismuth Salicylate, the active ingredient in Pepto-Bismol, has been touted by U.S. Doctors just as recent as this year as the most all around best remedy for gastrointestinal problems. It is an intestinal antiseptic, and coats the stomach and intestinal tract, helping with diarrhea and nausea better than any other single remedy. When I worked as a physician in Cantu, people came to me that had diarrhea for weeks. I gave them the generic clinic Bismuth Salicylate, and told them to take two capfuls after each diarrhea movement, until it stopped. Not one came back to me with the same problem. Antibiotics can actually kill the natural intestinal flora and cause more problems.

And now for my joke. A group of parents were asked what they would do if they found out their son was a Homo Sapien. 70% of the parents said they would throw him out of the house.

So much for an educated world. As we all know, laughter is the best medicine!! (And if you remember that saying from Reader's Digest, you are older than you want to admit!)

Salud!

Dra Janene

[Edited on 8-29-2014 by EnsenadaDr]

greengoes - 8-29-2014 at 08:57 AM

....it seems Montezuma's Revenge has taken a hold of the Baja Community.....

Maybe it is all the amateur gringo food vendors in that area spreading it.

Friday at the "Open Air Food Market" YO NO VOY!!!!

DianaT - 8-29-2014 at 09:07 AM

Any of the pepto type products are far more expensive in Baja than in the the US and there is a big difference in taste. If you want to use Pepto, maybe take it with you from the US.

And do be careful and it can be very hard on your kidneys. I am not a doctor, but have had that warning given to us by doctors.