BajaNomad

CFE

pacificobob - 5-12-2024 at 07:29 AM

I'll be traveling outside of Mexico for several months. Per usual payment of the CFE is a PIA.
Had anyone been using PayPal,Ulink, AMEX or other methods successfully? Id prefer not to make and overpayment and operate on the balance.
I hope to learn of an easy solution like one might expect in the 21st century.

Udo - 5-12-2024 at 08:32 AM

CFE has an app that you sign up from your phone or computer. From there they will send you your statements. You then use your USA credit or debit card to pay for your bill
I have been using the app successfully for 6 years now.

www.cfe.mx/vun/Paginas/PagoReciboEnLinea.aspx

Quote: Originally posted by pacificobob  
I'll be traveling outside of Mexico for several months. Per usual payment of the CFE is a PIA.
Had anyone been using PayPal,Ulink, AMEX or other methods successfully? Id prefer not to make and overpayment and operate on the balance.

Bajazly - 5-12-2024 at 09:02 AM

@Udo, what is the trick to using a US CC? I have the app but it won't let me use a US CC. I was thinking about a prepaid Mexican CC but haven't done that yet.

karenintx - 5-12-2024 at 10:04 AM

We have paid our CFE bill with our Am-Ex Platinum c/c for years. Both Am-Ex and CFE send payment receipts to our email. Also, on the CFE homepage it will immediately show "paid out".

Several of our American friends have said they are unable to use their American issued c/c but then they are not using an Am-Ex Platinum c/c they are using other American issued bank c/c.

Hope this is helpful.

AKgringo - 5-12-2024 at 10:11 AM

I have never had any dealings with CFE, but I am curious if there is any difference in using debit vs credit cards?

pacificobob - 5-12-2024 at 10:23 AM

Same problem here. I used Amex for a while until it no longer worked.

karenintx - 5-12-2024 at 10:29 AM