BajaNomad

local knowledge, local winds, sea cortez

murray - 11-12-2007 at 11:54 AM

Hello,

If anyone (especially sea kayakers and small boat people!) would like to share any of their local knowledge on winds in the upper sea of cortez it would be most welcome...

frequency, duration, intensity, onshore-offshore, patterns if any(typical time of day?) and especially weather signs that you watch out for...

i'm interested in conditions november through january

thanks so much,

m.

gnukid - 11-12-2007 at 12:43 PM

I have been sailing the region for the last 25 years on mostly small boats. I have dreamed of and planned a trip like yours but never done it. We have a plan to do it with a large group and multiple support boats on traditional historical small craft perhaps later this year in February.

In general there is a "norte" that is, north, north west or north east wind movement during nov-march. The wind is often slightly variable from the south or opposite direction as night and mornings and weather patterns are localized. Generally the wind doesn't increase beyond 20-30knots but it has on rare occasions gusting to 50mph, I recall one winter. Rain is not common but its possible to receive a downpour accompanied by heavy downdraft wind for a short period of time-30 minutes twice a year in the period. Waves building from these nortes will bring a special close chop all the way from San Felipe down to Cabo Pulmo and the waves will tell you much about what is happening to the north for example at night when you feel swell increasing you know the following day will see wind.