BajaNomad

cabelas salt striker fishing line

4baja - 2-26-2009 at 07:40 AM

anybody use this line before? had some good reveiws on cabelas alot cheaper then the top brands. i like berkly big game and ande but i have 15 reels to respool before the season hits and would like to save some money thanks.:coolup:

castaway$ - 2-26-2009 at 09:00 AM

I use it! I haven't really seen any differance between it and trilene big game. I caught a 150# marlin on 40 pound test and many yellowtail and dorado, Iv'e also used it extensivley on the oregon coast for bottom fish and it has held up pretty well to rock abraisons. Castaway

Diver - 2-26-2009 at 09:04 AM

I noted this answer on Allcoast:

It's all I use for main line, for leader I use Ande Pink,(much harder)
I fish hard in the Key West - Dry Tortugas area, no newbie here, hard core.
This is what I suspect...
-Noticed Saltstriker says "Made in Japan"
-Noticed Cabela's says Saltstriker is made by a premium line
manufacturer.
Now, compare Salt Striker to Momoi Hi-Catch...
My friend, Salt Striker is nothing more than Momoi Hi-Catch at a fraction of the cost. I buy Salt Striker for $30 for 2 punds.
I've already put that line to the test, it's a soft line, low memory but it has great knot strenght which IMO is any line's achille's heel. For you guys out West they have it in blue also.

4baja - 2-26-2009 at 12:30 PM

niceeeee! thanks i think ill put in a order.

Pescador - 3-1-2009 at 09:30 AM

I test the line breakage point and knot stregth on all of the lines I use. Cabela's line is ok but 50 lb will break at less than 50 lbs, sometimes down to low 40's and it is weaker with any type of clinch knot like uni's or plain clinch. It lolds a little better with a palomar but most knots will only have about 85% of breaking stregth with this line. It does feel nice on the reel since it is pretty soft but you really need to retie you hooks or lures after ever 1 or 2 fish.