BajaNomad

Down Riggers

Trex - 4-7-2009 at 09:08 AM

I'm taking my boat from Monterey Ca. to Loreto Baja in July and leaving it there. If they will not let me fish for Salmon, I will fish for Dorado.

Is there any use for down riggers in Baja? Should I bring them with the boat or just sell them?

BajaBruno - 4-7-2009 at 09:12 AM

You might send a message to Bill Erhardt--I know he has been experimenting with downriggers lately.

Pescador - 4-7-2009 at 09:33 AM

Depends on what you want to fish for. I have tried them for yellowtail and under the right conditions they do work but are a lot of work to put up and down when there are other methods that are probably more productive. If I have a complete novice on board, however, I have used them to get that person hooked up with a fish pulling either a lure or live bait.
Sometimes when the tuna are running (which happens less and less each year) they can be productive part of a trolling spread as well as for Wahoo. I do have a friend who thinks he gets a few more hookups with downriggers for sails but my experience does not agree with that.
For Dorado, they are not going to help at all.
So, since you already have them, you might find them occasionally helpful but will probably not be the favored method.

Trex - 4-7-2009 at 10:49 AM

Bruno and Pescador, thanks for the feed back. I've emailed Bill Erhardt for his input. As Pescador mentioned, since I have them I might as well bring them, so I will. When tuna are down deep, they might come in handy.

Skeet/Loreto - 4-7-2009 at 12:09 PM

Trex.
I had my first Panga rigged for Outriggers in 1976. Used the outriggers about 2 years found that they were not necessary.
I ended up with most of my Rods 9 Footers. They could be used somewhat as out riggers.
Spent 38 years fishing out of Loreto, fish like the Mexicanos and you can catch all of the different Species and have lots of Fun.

Skeet/Loreto

Pompano - 4-7-2009 at 12:26 PM