BajaNomad

Pacific Side Sea Kayaking

seayak - 5-26-2009 at 11:06 PM

Intro...

I'm in the planing phase of sea kayaking the Pacific side of Baja from San Diego to Cabo. Trying to figure my trip window based on prevailing winds. Late summer works for me, what direction would the winds be pushing?

On a side note, June of 08' I paddled from Crescent City, Ca; south to Mission Bay, San Diego. I covered 1321 miles of coastline, so I have some experience in the surf, and with expedition planing.

Thanks for any input,

Jerry Sparks

PST

redhilltown - 5-26-2009 at 11:35 PM

I have fished my fair share out of Punta Santo Tomas and it seems the winds usually kick up in the afternoon to some pretty nasty swells. Winds usually from the north or northwest...the bay is protected to those winds so you have a safe harbor but if from the south, all bets are off and I think the local pangeros even pull their boats out of the bay...you mentioned late summer which would be hurricane season further south. Once there, Sam Saenz runs the Puerto Santo Tomas resort and you can camp at his place or rent a cabin. If you speak Spanish you can talk to the local urchin/sea cucumber divers (or fishing guide Marcos) to get a good heads up on what awaits you further south. Have a blast!

fishbuck - 5-27-2009 at 02:13 AM

Early mid summer to early mid fall.
The problem is getting to Cabo in peak hurrican season. Big swells. Starting in about September October.
So leave San Diego no later than July 15. Pull your boat out in Cabo no later than Oct. 1.
You can't do better.
How long will it take? What kind of kayak will you use.

I believe it is generally a "down hill" run the whole way as far as wind goes.
I think the conventional wisdom is that it's much easier to sail to Cabo from San Diego than it is to sail back.
Think Newport to Ensenada race.

[Edited on 5-27-2009 by fishbuck]

Bob and Susan - 5-27-2009 at 05:47 AM

i always wonder when people say
it's "uphill" from ensenada to san diego...