BajaNomad

Fish in the nets, but none on the beach

aguachico - 9-26-2010 at 03:03 PM

Wat up Nomad people?

Had a great Baja run a few weeks ago. Some of everything inshore, but no exotics offshore. Both the West coast Cali and North east coast are hurting this year.

La Bocana and Abreojos are experiencing high catch counts of grouper and BSB. They are also getting a lot of YT in the nets, deep to 120-200feet.

Can anyone remember this scenario in the past.? :?:

I have been fishing this area for 8 years now. 2003 was strange with YT,grouper and WSB thru February, buy no tuna, dodo's or wahoo.

Salud

BAJA.DESERT.RAT - 9-26-2010 at 04:31 PM

Hola aquachico,

it has been a strange year so far.

san quintin white seabass started out grand with whites to about 60 pounds and fizzled real quick. then it was yellows and then the yellowfin and albacore arrived but farther out and then the bite died down and the weather kicked up.

i understand the mid range boats from san diego were fishing the san martin area and cedros yellows. i am not aware if guadalupe island is open to fishing or not which is also in that range, usually, five day trips.

the pacific queen, an overnight to mid range boat from san diego went north to morro bay for the albacore bite but it's not wide open yet. normally when it goes to morro bay, the baja bite has ended.

very strange this year.

BIEN SALUD, DA RAT

woody with a view - 9-26-2010 at 06:05 PM

making my decisions easier....

acadist - 9-26-2010 at 06:44 PM

Woody, Go to La Paz! They are having a great year!

norte - 9-26-2010 at 07:04 PM

I didn't know the gill nets ran as deep as 200 ft when fished from Pangas.

Quote:
Originally posted by aguachico
Wat up Nomad people?

Had a great Baja run a few weeks ago. Some of everything inshore, but no exotics offshore. Both the West coast Cali and North east coast are hurting this year.