BajaNomad

Ensenada...The good...the average...and the questions

Gypsy Jan - 12-1-2010 at 12:57 PM

(This is cross-posted from Chowhound, the original poster Is tridogg)

"3 trips to ensenada in the last month gives lots to report. I am a chef myself so i am particular. Here goes...My trips were all sunday monday so unfortunatly I could not hit my fav manzanilla...So... I'll start with the good...i did finally got to bara azul which was quite excellant and very reasonable albeit off the main areas most tourists go (calle once @ mar), i will go back here for sure. I also went to the same chefs little bar/seafood snack place (ultramarinoo) every time i went...it is on ruiz just off lopes mateo...the tempura oyster tacos are not to be missed, yum...great mojitos tambien...Also had a really good meal at punto morro....kind of pricey for mexico but i enjoyed dinner...ambiance is killer too...Waves are crashing right up to the windows... La Guerrerense is a revalation...amazingly good and amazingly cheap..if the was a zagat guide it would def be in the best bang for your buck category...Now for the average but remember i am particular. Covelli clay oven pizza 637 miramar. Many rave about this place...i enjoyed it but if you have had pizza at spago or chez pannisse or in the south of france...well...its not that good but its better than most chain places and i think it's good ensenada has "decent Pizza". Ditto for Hogaz Hogaz in the same shopping lot...it is european bakery and its good and i"m glad it"s there but if you frequent La Brea bakery or spent time in the south of france...well...its ok. Now for the questions and comments...I was going to eat at the cocedora de langosta but the lobster dishes are $40 to $50...and i'm pretty sure it's pacific lobster. I think live main lobster is far superior to pacific and I can usually find that here at those prices so unless someone can convince me i am really missing something here...i am tempted to pass. Also...I have heard