BajaNomad

Punta Chivato Beaches - A 3-Hour Boat Tour

Pompano - 2-2-2012 at 11:09 AM

BOAT PICS FROM FEB 2, 2012 – PTA CHIVATO BEACH HOMES – EMPTY CAMPING BEACHES – STA INEZ – MULEGE RIO:

Leaving Mulege Rio estuary. Empty harbor captain office, moorings…improved boat ramp.

This a mostly deserted stretch of perfect sandy beaches that starts about 3 miles north of Mulege and runs the next 2 miles to the nearest new home at Pta. Chivato. Perfect camping, but mostly unused by anyone. A good reason being….?? Your experience or comments are welcome.

There was this one, and only one, RV sitting back from the beach…and he certainly had lots of privacy. Place is kind of a mystery to me, as I have had little experience and desire to go there…and God knows I’ve had the time and opportunity.

This was a more interesting and Baja-like scene…a driftwood beach shelter being inspected by a solo kayaker. Some memories there, I suspect….

A long view of homes at Pta. Chivato. The hotel is at far right. I forgot to count the homes, but must be well over…what? ..100?

The hotel

CASA GRANDE – My old home at Pta. Chivato (1976 – 1986)

Chivato Public Camping Beach…empty? Hmmm….

The name of this mountain is right on my lips…but?…wait…I know it will come to me..??

Time to leave Chivato…and we’re bugging out!

TORTUGA off in the distance…a long ways to go, but…a great place to fish…at times. :rolleyes:

Lighthouse (faro) at Sta. Inez Islands

Seal island sanctuary – Sta. Inez Islands

Contrails: United & Alaska racing to Cabo??...OR...we are nuking Loreto! :wow:

Shrimper anchored offshore Mulege

Entrance Mulege Rio at low tide 2:00 pm…1.1

Northside homes overlooking estuary.

Okay, everybody out…the tour is over and the skipper is due at the poker table muy pronto.

[Edited on 2-2-2012 by Pompano]

Joelt - 2-2-2012 at 11:36 AM