BajaNomad

Why do I fish?

acadist - 7-16-2012 at 05:43 PM

Seems like a loaded question, let me start by saying that this train of thought was brought on by the new book I purchased for my kindle. The title is 'In Pursuit of Giants: One Mans Search for the Last of the Great Fish'. The sample I downloaded began with a wordy prologue but as I began to read the first chapter (all in the sample) I was hooked. It begins with fishing for marlin in Cabo and immediately started me thinking and made me realize my inner thoughts about the ocean were maybe not mine alone.
I am by no means an expert fisherman, I barely consider myself much more than a beginner. My first trip was because of work, one of my customers every year would charter one of the SoCal fleet fir a day trip to Catalina. I caught a couple of barracuda and a small Bonita, I remember that 4-5 small yellowtail were caught by the 30+ people on the charter. It was fun but not life changing. A couple years later we bought the house next door to Doug, my wife's cousin. Soon after he and Bill from around the corner went on a trip to La Paz towing Bill's 24 ft cabin cruiser. The stories they brought back were like bait to me. They started taking me on day trips in Long Beach harbor and soon I bought my first gear, I was ready for my chance to go to to this enticing land called Baja.
That was 15 years ago and since that time I have gone as much as I can. When I lived in SoCal it was more and now being in CO I only get to go once ore twice a year. Since the first trip to Loreto I have gone to many places and someday hope to have time to explore more. Without Baja I do not think I would have ever wanted to fish as much as I do now.
Doug and Bill no longer travel with me, my daughter was my traveling partner a couple of years but decided to grow up and now has her own life to take care of. My boys are now going with me and have made me realize that helping them learn to fish is just as much fun as fishing myself.