BajaNomad

Tuna pens in tow - La Paz area. Any sightings ?

amirravon - 10-24-2013 at 10:36 PM

Can somebody confirm that the Tuna pens from Ensenada are really have been towed to La Paz ? Any info/ Location will be helpful... Thanks

Mula - 10-25-2013 at 05:28 AM

I don't know about this, but there are tuna pens around Mag Bay now.

amirravon - 10-25-2013 at 05:34 AM

Are thy under tow ?

Mula - 10-25-2013 at 05:55 AM

No.

Tuna pens

captkw - 10-25-2013 at 07:54 AM

I am no expert on tuna pens,,but to tow from way up there down around the cape and then up to la paz...That's stupid !!

comitan - 10-25-2013 at 07:55 AM

Its my understanding they are towing them to Japan.

beachbum1A - 10-25-2013 at 08:35 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by comitan
Its my understanding they are towing them to Japan.

I LIKE THAT!!

comitan - 10-25-2013 at 10:00 AM

Japanese Herd Our Tuna Off To Japan

And they make them swim all the way!

If you fish below the border, tuna pens are not an unfamiliar sight. These huge circular pens, roughly 150 feet wide and 50 feet deep, are the temporary homes to bluefin tuna that are fattened up before being sent to the Japanese fish market – sometimes dragged at an agonizingly slow two knots across the Pacific, all the way to Japan.

Wayde Nichols aboard his 48 foot Señor Jefe managed to steer his boat into the middle of a floating tuna pen nearly half the size of a football field. To get out, the outer ring was submerged by the crew of the tow boat to allow them to drive out.

During their 12 hour ordeal in the tuna pen, the Señor Jefe crew members alternated between fright and excitement. During the period of intense negotiations to free their boat, they experienced the adrenaline rush of a wide open tuna bite inside the pen.

Nothing stands between the Japanese and their sushi. It’s just another high seas hazard that might give you grief or it might provide you with some of the best catches of the day.