BajaNomad

bicyiclists

chumlee57 - 1-3-2014 at 10:30 PM

OK, I know I'm going to get murdered for this, but, has anyone else other than me noticed that for some reason or other, bicycling the carraterra has become a rather popular sport. Last year we saw a family cruising south on tandum bikes, as in two young children maybe 6 & 8 ( not sure ) riding the rear seats. Just got back from a week or so from the Mulege area and it seems that this is becoming a more popular thing to do. I've been traveling the penninsula for over 30 years, and although the roads have never been better, I am very curious who and what internet boards ( if any ) would suggest that this would be an adventure. From a basic intelligent standpoint, I am interested to get a pulse from this board on what people think about this, again, this is not a popular subject to blast ( riding bikes to save the envoirnment ) but this is a disaster waiting to happen, we will soon hear of a major disaster, not because of anyones fault, but due to circumstances on sections of the road

David K - 1-4-2014 at 12:32 AM

Not new, but highly dangerous where the highway has no shoulders (much of it south of San Quintin)!

Book published in 1988 by Sunbelt.

Bob H - 1-4-2014 at 12:35 AM

They seem to be in the way, at times. But, biking MX-1 is dangerous!

Mula - 1-4-2014 at 06:36 AM

I too am amazed that we never hear of accidents involving bicyclists.

And can't imagine a worse vacation - bicycling for 1200 miles.

And the health hazard for the kids in the little low trailers - right at exhaust level.

What are the parents thinking?

JohnMcfrog - 1-4-2014 at 08:21 AM