BajaNomad

Questions heading down 5 for the first time

23S52N - 9-8-2015 at 12:02 PM

Hi folks,

My apologies if this has been covered, but i did search the threads and posts and got most of my questions answered except the following. Firstly, I've been driving down to La Paz from Canada for the past 4 years but have been on the Tecate/San Quintin corridor, which as with so many of you, has become tedious. So i have decided this trip down to cross at Mexicali and head down and over to Chapala and down #1 to La Paz.

I am driving a Dodge Ram 3500 Diesel Mega Cab, no camper and not pulling anything. I have my two pups with me. I only care to be on the road for a total of 6 or max 7 hours per day, and i am not in a huge hurry. Keeping that in mind here are my questions:

1. The first day i plan from El Centro down to Alfonsinas. They don't accept pets, so is there an alternative there? If not, the pets can sleep in their bed in the truck.

2. Is diesel available at the Pemex on the corner into Gonazaga?

3. I plan to drive from Alfonsinas the next day to Mulege. I used to do El Rosario to St. Ignacio. Does the Mulege trip sound about the same time frame and can anyone recommend a decent pet friendly place in Mulege?

4. Some folks have mentioned flat tires being a problem on the last 25 miles of the road from Coco's to Chapala. Is that from sharp rocks or debris?

I appreciate your patience with all the questions and hope i'm not on worn out ground.

regards,
Keith

larryC - 9-8-2015 at 12:12 PM

The last time I drove it, about a week ago there was no diesel available at the Pemex at Gonzaga.

The flat tire problem may be from driving too fast on the rocky portion of the road between Coco's and Chapala.

Depending on when you leave El Centro you will probably be in Gonzaga pretty early. I stay in San Filipe at the Blue Sky and they are dog/pet friendly.

El Jefe - 9-8-2015 at 12:13 PM

3. You can make it to Mulege no problem.