BajaNomad

Whale Sharks

sledneck - 9-29-2015 at 11:16 AM

My wife and I will be down in Cabo Pulmo next week, can anyone chime in on where we might be able to go and see some whale sharks? Thanks!

bajafreaks - 9-29-2015 at 04:34 PM

I've never really heard of any whale sharks in the Pulmo area but believe me I'm no expert. I know their in La Paz and I believe the season is starting soon.

bajabuddha - 9-29-2015 at 07:31 PM

I don't know the waters in that vicinity at all, but I do know they prefer shallower warmer sheltered bays and coves. When you get there, as all Baja has worked for the last 50 years (amongst us wanderers) interface with the locals in your area. ASK. TALK. This time of year I'd check out Bahia de L.A. on the way down; also the Burro/Coyote area in Concepcion...... a few beers at a local watering hole..... all the 'local color' is dying for someone new to chat with and swap war stories (not that their neighbors have become boring and tedious, noooo....) get some tips. Whale sharks just ARE: they can't read so guide books are useless. If you seek it, it will come. They are amazing gentle giants. I wish you well on your quest; to pet one takes slowness, patience, and...... did I mention patience?

There's a whale shark website (too tired to look it up) that lets you 'adopt' your own whale shark. If you photograph one, try to get the side/stipe of spots directy below the dorsal fin, because that's the area they use to identify each individual animal; all the patterns in that 'drop-zone' are different, and you can register the animal on the site for future identification/movement. I have pictures of about 6 different juveniles; i'll send the pics to the site right after I fill out my entry forms into the Procrastinators Of America Club. It's second on my list, I promise.
I truly hope in your lifetime you're blessed with the rub of communing with one... Buena Suerte.

BigBearRider - 9-30-2015 at 10:06 AM