BajaNomad

Complete newbie here. Driving by car from Phoenix to La Paz

Dariosantiago - 5-29-2016 at 07:56 PM

Hi! I am really ignorant when it comes to Baja, but as I was contemplating a summer vacation for the family, the thought occurred that I could take us to Baja for something a little different. I work in immigration law and I even litigate Mexican asylum claims, so I hear the horror stories all the time. I have never even seen or heard of a case from Baja though. I may have a skewed perspective of the dangers associated with travel in Mexico, so my question is simple. Is it safe to drive with the family all the way from Phoenix to La Paz? We don't have to go that far south if there are closer non touristy places you might recommend, but the beaches in La Paz look absolutely divine.

My wife is Mexican and the children and I all speak Spanish, so language is not a problem. I was just concerned about general violence and safety concerns. Any thoughts or suggestions as I contemplate a road trip of a week to ten days from Phoenix to Baja with a wife and four children ages 15, 12, 9, and 6? Am I crazy? I would greatly appreciate any thoughts.

willardguy - 5-29-2016 at 07:59 PM

here we go......

DK's lickin' his chops.....:lol:

[Edited on 5-30-2016 by willardguy]

Sandlefoot - 5-29-2016 at 08:08 PM

Been driving both ways, twice a year beginning in 1999. Never a problem for me, but i stay away from drugs and people that are involved in drugs. that eliminates 99% of the possibilities. There are many many threads that deal with this and if you do a simple search you will have enough reading to get you all the way to La Paz, if you start now!!!!:lol:

Come on down and enjoy this great place.

Mike

bajabuddha - 5-29-2016 at 08:18 PM