BajaNomad

Moving to Tijuana, work in SD

Studentoftruth89 - 9-12-2016 at 07:05 PM

Hi, new here. Have a few questions about moving. First a bit about myself. I currently live in Wisconsin and have graduated school for Massage Therapy here. I'm looking to get licensed in California and work in San Diego but live in Tijuana. How do I go about getting my employer to pay me if I live in a different country? Or will it not be an issue? Also to get the Sentri Pass must I be in California for the interview part of can that be done locally before I move. I have my own vehicle and am looking to stay at least six months possibly longer. But I love to see new things and experience cultures different from my own so I don't want this to be a permanent move. However I hear the California pay rate for my profession is significantly higher so I figure I can save a little money and go from there. About how much money would you recommend moving down with? Just enough to last me until I can hopefully get a job relatively quickly. I'd be willing to even take a fast food or serving job on either side of the border if I'd be able to survive. I don't expect to get rich and my material wants are very few. Is craigslist a good place to search for a roommate(s)? I'm a 27 year old male if that helps any. Thank you and any other advice or things I need to consider would be helpful. I'm sure I'll think of more questions as time goes on but looking to move in a few months at max because getting restless up in Green Bay.

BajaBlanca - 9-12-2016 at 09:06 PM

craigslist is a great location to search for roomies or furniture or whatever.

I recommend having job interviews lined up before you even come - this is a hard economy now.

having a sentry card will be your saving grace to be able to go to san diego to work. your bank will be in san diego and pay will come in dollars so no issue at all.

good luck with everything.

SlyOnce - 9-13-2016 at 09:25 AM