BajaNomad

Mexicali 1 Mexicali 2 online FMM?

Bajabus - 1-16-2021 at 08:06 AM

I am a permanent Mexican resident but my wife and son are not. I want to do online forms for them.

Entering Baja for the first time @ Mexicali. The online form does not refer to the two gates as East and West. The form refers to Mexicali 1 and Mexicali 2.

https://www.inm.gob.mx/fmme/publico/en/solicitud.html

I plan on using the West gate, is that #1 or #2? I don't know that it really matters since we usually stop at the immigration office in GN to get stamps. I'm pulling a 25' trailer and have no desire to stop and get a stamp at the crossing.

Regards to all

Bajazly - 1-16-2021 at 08:32 AM

Crossing west is super easy to stop and get an FMM. Double park all the way to the left in front of the parking lot, before you go thru the gates, run in and done.

PaulW - 1-16-2021 at 08:33 AM

Don't bother with online because you still have to stop at the border for activation of the FMM. Only takes a few minutes to get the FMM at the border. All you need is money and a PP at the border.

AKgringo - 1-16-2021 at 08:41 AM

The west gate is #1.

Bajabus - 1-16-2021 at 08:53 AM

Quote: Originally posted by AKgringo  
The west gate is #1.

Thank you AK. and to others. I have read descriptions on BN about the park and get it plan, but it would be nice to avoid the extra step of gong to the bank and paying and then returning to the Immigration office. Is the bank even open at 5:30 AM?

It used to be that you could wait until GN to get it. Is this not the case anymore?

Thanks again for all the advice.

AKgringo - 1-16-2021 at 08:59 AM

The bank was not open when I crossed, but no problem, the guy issuing the FMM took the cash and stamped it. Make sure you already have some pesos to keep it simple.

Bajabus - 1-16-2021 at 09:05 AM

Thanks again AK,

The double park and get it over with would be plan A.