BajaNomad

Peso Exchange question

John M - 3-7-2023 at 05:55 AM

I got a question from some folks going to Baja with us next week - do the peso exchange places readily accept 50s and 100 dollar bills?

We've always used 20s, so I have no experience with the larger denominations.

Thanks

John M

[Edited on 3-7-2023 by John M]

KaceyJ - 3-7-2023 at 07:28 AM

No problem , and
last time I xchanged , there was no Id required for a large transaction.
This was San Ysidro

RFClark - 3-7-2023 at 09:15 AM

Your friends can get a better exchange rate if they order pesos from their US bank before they go to Mexico.

We use BofA in the states.

AKgringo - 3-7-2023 at 09:39 AM

There are two Wells Fargo banks in my area, (Nevada County) and one of them keeps enough pesos on hand to get five or six hundred dollars converted. If you need more, give them a few days' notice.

I don't remember what the exchange rate was, but the convenience was worth whatever they charged. Call around to see if a bank near you is able to make the exchange.

StuckSucks - 3-7-2023 at 09:42 AM

I got pesos from our BofA once, which taught me that was the wrong way to go. We are platinum or premium members (whatever it's called), so I expected to get a fair exchange rate. Turns out the rate was a couple of points lower than what I could get at the border, PLUS BofA charged me an additional fee. Never again.

Do your homework first to see if it really is a good deal.

TMW - 3-7-2023 at 09:57 AM

I have often purchased pasos using 50 and 100 dollar bills.

surfhat - 3-7-2023 at 10:06 AM

There is an outfit called TravelX that sets up in some banks that is for money exchanges. The last time I used them was in a bank in Carlsbad, Ca. Their rates were comparable to other sources. The convenience was a plus.