BajaNomad

Restoring cars in Baja?

Reas - 7-24-2012 at 09:23 AM

I'm posting this for a buddy who's having computer issues today :)

Hello,

I am a UK citizen looking at living in Baja, within a 10hrs drive from the border.

I lived in the States for 20 years and accumulated a few classic car projects.I am a classic car mechanic/restorer and currently have several classic triumph cars stored in in the US just north of the san ysidro border crossing. I would want to restore/refurbish the cars in Baja before putting them up for sale either in Baja or the states

I was planning a trip there within the next couple of weeks but was advised that I should find out what issues, if any, there would be with me bringing a car south across the border that is on a trailer and obviously not drive-able.

Assuming that bringing it in could be done, what would be the issues of taking it back across the border when it was finished.

The cars are not extremely high value just some classic late 60's Triumphs valued less than 10K when restored
I would also be interested in employment there if there is any in my field of expertise.

Thanks

Andrew

[Edited on 7-24-2012 by Reas]

cars

captkw - 7-24-2012 at 09:39 AM

HOLA< upoustry and body work done cheap and anything else you will be out of luck..and forget about any electrical work with posative ground will mess with their head..LOL when I was a young lad I had guy that would buy a old classic and bring to me and I got it up and running then he would drive down to T.J. for body and inteier work..he found out in a hurry that if he did not stay at the shop all day that the work did not get done !! and not to break out the beer till the work day was over!! wish ya luck..K & T :cool:

bajaguy - 7-24-2012 at 10:06 AM

There is a classic car group in Ensenada. I will try and find the information.

Reas - 7-24-2012 at 10:11 AM

Thanks folks :)