BajaNomad

wine

lewm - 11-13-2007 at 04:10 PM

For you connoisseurs Of Trader Joes $2 buck chucks. Walmart has come out with a California wine called Oak Leaf. It sells for $1.97 a bottle. It comes in most flavors. I found it in Arizona & Nevada. We tried a couple of bottles & bought more. I admit I'm no expert, but it tasted OK.

Fred - 11-13-2007 at 04:21 PM

Thanks for the info. I need to go there tomorrow.

Flavors?

Dave - 11-13-2007 at 04:41 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by lewm
For you connoisseurs Of Trader Joes $2 buck chucks. Walmart has come out with a California wine called Oak Leaf. It sells for $1.97 a bottle. It comes in most flavors. I found it in Arizona & Nevada. We tried a couple of bottles & bought more. I admit I'm no expert, but it tasted OK.

Like strawberry and vanilla?

Thanks. For us 2BC fans anything less expensive is always a plus. :rolleyes:

Screw-top or fake cork?

Mexitron - 11-13-2007 at 04:52 PM

With that low-end stuff you're essentially buying box-wine repackaged in bottles--IMHO save yourself some money and buy the box.

Bob and Susan - 11-13-2007 at 04:54 PM

actually box wine is being filled with better wines every year...

the lack of air in the bag keep the wine longer after opened

"try it you'll like it":biggrin:

lewm - 11-13-2007 at 04:59 PM

Box wine is fine, but just does not work as well as a bottle at your table.

Al G - 11-13-2007 at 05:06 PM

I will check out Wally World Wine...if it is not made in China:lol:

Dave - 11-13-2007 at 06:00 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by Al G
I will check out Wally World Wine...if it is not made in China:lol:

What with all the extra stuff they put in everything, a bottle of Chinese wine doesn't sound so bad.

I just need to find that "special someone" to share it with. :rolleyes:

Hook - 11-13-2007 at 06:03 PM

Here's a couple inexpensive gems

Cartlidge and Brown Sauv. Blanc 05

Durand La Bastide Roussanne 06

Not 2.99, mind you. But some character.