BajaNomad

If I need to, can I work in baja?

lesliego - 5-3-2009 at 04:46 PM

Maybe this is a naive question, but I'm gonna ask anyway. If I fall in love with this place, why come back? Question is, can I support myself? I have a bachelor's degree in business, have done years of accounting and income taxes, I speak Spanish and I have worked in a commercial kitchen. Not that I don't know how to do other things... Opinions?
Leslie

David K - 5-3-2009 at 04:49 PM

Find a business that needs you and get your FM-3 work visa... Do it!

Bajajack - 5-3-2009 at 05:05 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by lesliego
Maybe this is a naive question, but I'm gonna ask anyway. If I fall in love with this place, why come back? Question is, can I support myself? I have a bachelor's degree in business, have done years of accounting and income taxes, I speak Spanish and I have worked in a commercial kitchen. Not that I don't know how to do other things... Opinions?
Leslie
Sure, with your commercial kitchen background it shouldn't be a problem.

Just get your paperwork in order and hit up the Taco stands, they always need Pot Washers.

With a little hard work you could probably make up to $10 a day and get to live like a real mexican.:lol:

vandy - 5-3-2009 at 05:16 PM

I agree with bajajack...

I work in the States for 6 months, then take a couple of years off. The pay is much higher. You can even save most of it if you camp out...

If you find yourself somewhere north of Cabo, drop an email.
kayakbaja@gmail
We can have some smoke,fish

David K - 5-3-2009 at 05:21 PM

I would hope that lesliego KNOWS the pay in Mexico is about 1/10th the pay in America, and she can survive on that... Maybe she fell in love with Baja and wants to live on love (and $10/ day)?

DENNIS - 5-3-2009 at 05:48 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by David K
I would hope that lesliego KNOWS

I think she knows. Her original post alluded to the "list" which Mike Humfreville put up on this site in 2005.