BajaNomad

Seguro Popular, back by popular demand...

Pages:  1  

EnsenadaDr - 6-2-2012 at 10:40 AM

I am getting inquiries folks again for eligibility for Seguro Popular. It is a great plan if you take chronic medications and also in a pinch for trauma, accidents, and serious illnesses. Again, to get to the US if you decide to go after a serious incident you will have to pay for your ambulances through Dianamed or another insurance plan might cover the expense. But no American should be without it. There is no upfront cost; I did ask my boss in Maneadero about some charges in Baja Sur that some readers here have mentioned, and he said there should be no cost. Any legal resident of Mexico is eligible. Don't leave home without it!!

[Edited on 9-28-2012 by EnsenadaDr]

BajaBlanca - 6-2-2012 at 11:21 AM

I am so glad you published that information.

Is there any difference between the seguro popular and IMSS and ISSTE

I am assuming that as a high school teacher, I qualify for ISSTE and was just wondering if it is OK to sign us up for that or just sign up for the seguro popular.

gracias.

chuckie - 6-2-2012 at 11:31 AM

Where does one go to start this process, and meet with a real person to discuss it?

Mula - 6-2-2012 at 11:48 AM

Once you have your FM3, you go to your local registrar and apply for your CURP card. Then you go to which ever organization you are opting to go with - their administrative office - and apply for their policy. All very simple and fast.

IMSS you will have to have a physical by their Dr. prior to approval of the application. Seguro Popular just accepts you with out any pre quailifcation. The others I do not know about.

However, there is also GNP if you want world wide coverage and it will run 2,500 USD to 3,500 USD - depending on age, health, etc.

chippy - 6-2-2012 at 12:02 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by BajaBlanca