BajaNomad

Traveling from San Diego to Cabo

ondahrd - 10-16-2020 at 09:32 AM

I will be traveling to Cabo from San Diego with only one stop in Mulege over night. I have never done this before, but know most precautions, no night driving etc... Car will have most provisions needed. Is there any cell coverage on the way? Should I rent a Satellite phone? Anything I need to know that I might not be thinking of?

JZ - 10-16-2020 at 09:49 AM

Cabo is one of the least interesting places in Baja. Tourist trap. You will drive right by the best places.

There will be coverage most of the way. The exception being from
El Rosario to Guerrero Negro (about 200 miles). Look at the coverage map for your provider.

https://www.att.com/maps/wireless-coverage.html

You don't need a sat phone.

[Edited on 10-16-2020 by JZ]

David K - 10-16-2020 at 10:44 AM

I have to also wonder why zoom through the most fascinating peninsula on earth to go to a place at the very tip which is more of a circus than anything Mexican or Baja-like?

It is really way too far to go in 2-days. Days are getting shorter. You cross into Mountain Time and lose an hour doing that, as well.

Average speed is 50 mph for the 1,000 mile drive. There are many stops and slow traffic for towns (unless you go the faster way, south from Mexicali), about 6 military checkpoints, could be many wrecks on the skinny highway, range cattle and burros, etc.

NO CELL COVERAGE beyond El Rosario or San Felipe and none between the cities or in the hills, until you get near Guerrero Negro, 400 miles south.

You need a Mexican Auto Insurance policy if you want to be covered for liability as well as all else, since your U.S. insurance has no liability coverage in Mexico... where you are held in jail until you pay for damages. www.bajabound.com is the company many of us use, and it sponsors this site.