Not logged in [Login - Register]

Go To Bottom
Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Wimberly Brothers Annual 07 Trip Report
TMW
Select Nomad

[*] posted on 6-10-2007 at 11:13 AM
Wimberly Brothers Annual 07 Trip Report

Bill, Charlie and I have been making this annual trip for about 8 years. Always around the Baja 500 race.

It's Friday May 25th. We cross at Tecate and pick up our tourist visas. They gave Charlie his even though his passport expired in 2004. She told him to have a new one next time.

Down to Santa Veronica for lunch and off to San Felipe by way of the toll road to Mexicali and the newer toll around Mexicali to the south. In San Felipe we stop by and visit with friends, including Bajalou and TT. After dinner we find a camp spot for the night. The next morning Bill finds a pair of panies with lace on the edges and he ties them to a front driving light. Little did we know this would become a center of attention and topic at every military checkpoint and other places as well.

After a great buffet breakfast at the El Cortez hotel we head south to Cocos. He was not there. We have a beer and leave some food and drinks and move on. At guerrero Negro several of the hotels were full but we find a room and a friendly manager. After an excellent breakfast we're off to San Ignacio.

In San Ignacio we have lunch at Rice and Beans and stop to visit the church and relax a little in the town center. Soon we're on our way out the graded road toward the coast. Our mission was to take the route past El Paraje, Tres Palmas, El Patrocino, arroyo San Pedro to San Juan de la Pila. Then on to Mulege. We camp overnight on a side road. The next day after a breakfast of grits and tomatoes we're off.